What's On My List

Four Reasons to Listen to Luke Combs

I’ll be honest, I’m not always the best at finding “new artists” and taking the time to listen to more than one or two of their songs. If it’s not on the radio, sometimes I won’t ever hear it. But every once in a while I come across an up and comer that really sticks out to me. In this case, it’s Luke Combs.

Luke, from Asheville, NC, is just 26 years old with a few EPs under his belt. You may have heard his single “Hurricane” on the radio, but if you haven’t by now, well here’s your chance to dive in and discover what he is all about! Here’s why he stood out to me in particular:

Image result for luke combsHis Voice

This one is probably a given when bringing up why you should listen to a particular singer, but it’s rare to hear that raw country sound and I think it makes him unique and a genuine country singer. If I didn’t know who was singing the song when I first heard him, I would have thought it was Chris Young.

 

 

His LookImage result for luke combs

I’ll just come out and say it, I’m kind of sick of the Luke Bryans of the country world. This doesn’t mean I don’t like Luke Bryan, but it’s refreshing to see someone normal looking with a lot of talent. He’s a little Chris Stapleton mixed with a little Colt Ford! (And that’s not a bad thing!)

 

Image result for luke combsHe’s a Fan of Eric Church

(And we all know that I am). And if you are too, then I definitely suggest you take a listen! Combs said, “I’m a student of Eric Church, and I say that a lot. . . He doesn’t shy away from anything and that’s the way I wanted to be.” That should give you an idea of what you’ll hear from him!

 

His LyricsImage result for luke combs

From what I’ve gathered, Luke writes all of his own songs and if you’re looking for something a little less superficial than “painted on jeans”, then you’re in the right place! With lyrics like “She got the best of me, she broke my heart. Now all that’s left of me is beating in this guitar”, you’re bound to shed a tear or two.

 

 

Intrigued? Give him a listen here! Tell me which Luke Combs song you love the most!

Leave a Reply

