Reviews

“Record Year” Review

Let’s just start by saying that I am a huge fan of this song and haven’t stopped listening to it in months. I’ll try to keep this review shorter than the 15 page paper I had to write in order to graduate from college. I probably would’ve made it to 15 pages if I was allowed to write about this song.

2016-03-29_1103
I am going to come right out and say it, I think this is the best song Eric Church has ever put out. Hands down. If this song doesn’t make you feel something, then there is no hope for you.

If you haven’t listened to it, please stop reading, do yourself a favor and thoroughly enjoy the next three minutes of your life. (You can find the song in the playlist at the bottom of this post).

Lyrically, this song is just total perfection. It’s full of double meanings that perfectly portray the emotions that are meant to be felt. I honestly just can’t get over it. I’ll be honest, when I first saw the title on the Mr. Misunderstood track list, I thought this was going to be a song about how great his life is going because, well, he’s The Chief after all. Oh, was I wrong.

We’ve all gone through break-ups, some harder than others, and we all have our own ways of coping. In this instance, it’s rediscovering your favorite records and throwing back a few drinks. To me, it’s about rediscovering yourself through the music that shaped you. After all, when one relationship ends, typically a new one blooms and in this case, it’s his relationship with music.

Record Year

Here are some of my favorite lyrics, and no, I won’t copy and paste the whole song (even though I want to).

Since you turned the tables on me // I’ve been steady and learnin’ lonely // Keepin’ this turntable spinnin’ // Everything from Jones to Jennings

I usually make it through side A sober // All bets are off when I flip her over

I’m countin’ on a needle to save me // I drop it in the groove // And we go ’round and ’round // And down in a spiral

Which lyrics are your favorite? Leave a comment below and let me know!

Eric Church’s team put together a Spotify playlist that includes songs from all the records that he names in “Record Year”! Listen below!

Never miss a post! Follow me on Twitter and Instagram!
2 thoughts on ““Record Year” Review

Leave a Reply

