Playlists

Top 15 Country Songs of 2015

 

2016-03-03_0950

The year is coming to an end and since I’m always stuck in the past, why not reminisce on my 15 favorite country songs of this past year?!

And in no particular order we have…

  • A Guy Walks Into A Bar by Tyler Farr
    • This actually might be my favorite song of 2015. It’s so well-written, but I mean I feel like the guy shouldn’t go back to the bar that he met the girl who just broke his heart, but that’s none of my business. Don’t you think that will bring up bad memories? Regardless, I turn this jam up every time it comes on.
    • Favorite Lyric: I’m walking, talking, drinking proof, a cliché in a corner booth.
  • Save It For A Rainy Day by Kenny Chesney
    • Kenny Chesney has other things to worry about you. Well, mostly just the weather actually. In all seriousness, this is a break-up song but I love the way that it isn’t sad at all. He puts a positive twist on heartbreak and now you have one more song to sing along to on your island adventures.
    • Favorite Lyric: Yeah, the music’s too good, my friends are all out, and they’re all too high to be bringing ’em down.
  • Buy Me a Boat by Chris Janson
    • At first I was really confused as to why this song was playing on the radio because I just didn’t get it, but one day it came on and I realized it was catchy as hell. Then I was all, “IMMA BUY ME A BOAT” and the rest is history.
    • Favorite Lyric: I keep hearing that money is the root of all evil, and you can’t fit a camel through the eye of a needle.
  • Record Year by Eric Church
    • Like, honestly. Just listen.
    • Favorite Lyric: I’m countin’ on a needle to save me, I drop it in the groove, and we go ’round and ’round and down in a spiral.
  • Dime Store Cowgirl by Kacey Musgraves
    • It’s really a shame that Kacey Musgraves’ music isn’t played on country radio as often as it should be. This song is not only catchy, but it is all about not forgetting where you came from. You should definitely give it a listen, and while you’re at it, just listen to the entire album.
    • Favorite Lyric: I made it all the way past Austin City Limits, and maybe for a minute, I got too big for my britches.
  • Break Up With Him by Old Dominion
    • This song is on this list because you can’t tell me that you have never had it stuck in your head. End of story. Goodbye.
    • Favorite Lyric: Maybe you can lie to him and say you’ll still be friends.
  • I’m Comin’ Over by Chris Young
    • This. Is. My. JAM. This is my “this-song-came-out-3-years-too-late-but-I-related-to-every-word-at-one-point” song. We’ve all been there and that’s why this song is killin’ it in the charts.
    • Favorite Lyric: Who knows what we are in the morning, all I know is I want you. 
  • Country by Mo Pitney
    • If you love country music and the country you live in, this song is for you. It’s a feel-good song and I highly suggest listening to it like right now.
    • Favorite Lyric: Have you ever hitched a ride to Music City just to see an Opry show? Would you drive across the country to listen to some country?
  • Shut Up and Fish by Maddie & Tae
    • After “Girl In A Country Song,” I wasn’t sure I’d love another song the same, but then I heard “Shut Up and Fish.” It’s not completely relatable to someone who wouldn’t touch a fish with a 5 foot pole (get it?), but I still love it so much.
    • Favorite Lyric: Just a little push ‘cause he couldn’t just shut up and fish.
  • Young & Crazy by Frankie Ballard
    • The perfect excuse to do something stupid. Really though, this song is all about living your life the way it’s meant to be lived and to stop worrying about the little things.
    • Favorite Lyric: How will I know where to draw the line, if I don’t cross it a few hundred times?
  • Ain’t Worth The Whiskey by Cole Swindell
    • Who else thinks he is totally lying to himself? We know he’s drinking that whiskey because “you” did him wrong, duhh. This song technically came out in 2014, but I’ve included in this list because I think it really took off in 2015.
    • Favorite Lyric: Cheers to a good country song, to another long work week gone. And, yeah, I’m raising my glass to those savin’ our ass overseas.
  • I Got The Boy by Jana Kramer
    • Did you know that Britney Spears’ little sister co-wrote this song?
    • Favorite Lyric: You look so grown up in your black tux, from a ball cap in a pick up, seems like another world.
  • Hell of a Night by Dustin Lynch
    • I didn’t realize I loved this song until I really let myself listen to it one night.
    • Favorite Lyric: Heatin’ it up behind the high beams.
  • Good Ol’ Boys Club by Kacey Musgraves
    • I just couldn’t resist putting one more song from Pageant Material on my list. This song really stuck with me this year because it’s all about being true to yourself and showing that you’re not afraid of hard work to get where you want to be.
    • Favorite Lyric: Favors for friends will get you in and get you far, but when did it become about who you know and not about how good you are?
  • Like a Wrecking Ball by Eric Church
    • I love everything about this song. It’s raw, it’s romantic and it really showcases Eric Church’s sound. Eric Church is one of those artists who can’t be narrowed down to one genre, but I think even die-hard country fans love this one.
    • Favorite Lyric: One more show, then I’m comin’ home.
Leave a Reply

